Time Remains

Here is wisdom. Let him who has understanding calculate the number of the beast, for the number is that of a man; and his number is six hundred and sixty-six. (Revelation 13:18)

Six nations signed the Treaty of Rome, which founded the European Economic Community in 1957. After six additional nations joined this European Community, these 12 nations became the original members of the European Union. Then the European Union joined six European Free Trade Association nations to form the European Economic Area. The European Economic Area came together in three groups of nations, with each group consisting of six nations.

  • 6 + 6 + 6 = 18 nations

John wrote about the beast out of the sea, that it had seven heads and ten horns (Revelation 17:3). The body of this beast is the remnant nation of the Roman Empire, which is Italy. So a second calculation can be made concerning this beast.

  • 10 horns + 7 heads + 1 body = 18 nations

Seven Heads

The EEA was formed to give EFTA nations admission to the Common Market in Europe without being required to join the European Union. Therefore, these EFTA nations maintained complete self-governance. For that reason, these six EFTA nations are depicted as six “head” nations on this beast.

Historical events provide evidence that Germany is the “head” nation within the European Union. In the year 962, Pope John XII crowned Otto the Great, the King of Germany, as emperor of the Holy Roman Empire. Every emperor that followed held the title, King of Germany. The 1512 Diet of Cologne changed the name of this empire to the Holy Roman Empire of the German Nation.

When Germany, as the sole “head” nation of the EU is added to the six “head” nations of the EFTA, then all seven heads of the beast appear. Germany again attempted to dominate Europe during two World wars. The Axis alliance of World War II united Germany (the beast’s primary head) with Rome/Italy (the beast’s body) in another effort to conquer Europe.

But defeat in World War II caused the wounded head of Germany to be split in half. The victors carved two nations out of Germany: The Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany) and the German Democratic Republic (East Germany). East Germany was made a member of the Soviet bloc of nations, it was made to be an enemy of West Germany.

When a head is sliced into two pieces, it is normally considered to be a fatal wound. However, in 1989 this wound was healed when the Soviet Union surrendered control of East Germany, allowing a reunified Germany. I saw one of his heads as if it had been slain, and his fatal wound was healed. (Revelation 13:3a).

Ten Horns

Ten nations forfeited their sovereignty during the rule of ten national leaders, referred to as “kings”. The following describes these leaders transferring authority. This authority to rule was initially transferred to the European Union: The ten horns which you saw are ten kings who have not yet received a kingdom, but they receive authority as kings with the beast for one hour. These have one purpose, and they give their power and authority to the beast. (Revelation 17:12-13)

Prior to the formation of the European Economic Area, ten nations forfeited their sovereignty when they joined the European Union. These ten nations are depicted as ten horns (ten centers of power) on the beast. The ten horns of this EEA-beast are the twelve founding nations of the European Union, minus two nations; the two non-horn nations are Germany (the head) and Rome/Italy (the body).

This beast has undergone change since its inception and must undergo further transformation to become the ultimate final Roman Empire, ready for the reign of Antichrist.

Heads Fall

Initially, there are seven vibrant heads on this EEA-beast that correspond to seven kings, with each king having authority over a nation. The following is a description of when five of these heads will have fallen: and they are seven kings; five have fallen, one is, the other has not yet come; and when he comes, he must remain a little while. (Revelation 17:10)

So, at some point five of the seven sovereign governments (kings) of “head” nations will have fallen. This forfeiture of authority is already underway. Three heads on this EEA-beast, who originally were members of the EFTA, switched to become members of the European Union in 1995. This shift grew the European Union from twelve to fifteen nations. The three “head” nations that have already fallen are Austria, Finland, and Sweden.

  • 3 heads have already fallen + 2 more heads yet to fall = 5 heads have fallen

To reach the point where five “head” nations have fallen requires two more members of the EFTA to join the European Union. Two out of three EFTA nations, which were original members of the EEA-beast, will abandon its EFTA status to join the European Union. The three nations that meet that criterion are Iceland, Norway, and Liechtenstein. Tracking these nations in relation to European Union membership serves to monitor the approaching time when five heads will have fallen.

Economic issues appear to be the primary reason these nations refrain from joining the European Union. Iceland is hesitant to join due to contentious fishing industry issues. Norway has substantial oil and gas reserves, and enjoys one of the highest per-capita incomes in the world. Liechtenstein has one of the highest gross domestic product rates per person in the world.

After five heads fall, then one final national leader (king) will be in place, the other final national leader (king) has not yet come; but when he comes, he must remain for only a little while (Revelation 17:10). At that time one of the final kings will be in power, and the other final king to rule in Europe before the Antichrist rules is yet to come; and when that final king comes, he will remain in power for only a short time.

Antichrist will rule after these seven kings have departed; he will be the eighth and final king over Europe. (Revelation 17:11)

Name Active Heads Fallen Heads Situation
European Economic Community 1 – Germany 6
European Union 1 – Germany 0 6 + 6
European Economic Area 7 0 6 + 6 + 6
European Economic Area 4 3 As of 2020
Future Events
Unknown 2 5 5 heads have fallen
1 6 1 final head remains a little while
Beast out of the Sea 0 – Antichrist 7 Antichrist rules as an eighth king

Daniel saw the final make-up of this Beast, and while giving a fairly detailed description noted that it had ten horns. After this I kept looking in the night visions, and behold, a fourth beast, dreadful and terrifying and extremely strong; and it had large iron teeth. It devoured and crushed and trampled down the remainder with its feet; and it was different from all the beasts that were before it, and it had ten horns. (Daniel 7:7). Had the final form of this Beast maintained seven active heads, then Daniel certainly would have mentioned it. The Antichrist rules after the seven initial heads have fallen. In the end there will be only one authoritative head on this Beast – the Antichrist.

Horns Uprooted

Daniel observed that an eleventh horn appeared on the beast, and its impact on other horns. While I was contemplating the horns, behold, another horn, a little one, came up among them, and three of the first horns were pulled out by the roots before it (Daniel 7:8a). During the final development of the beast a powerful horn appears who overthrows three of the initial horns.

This dominant horn is the Antichrist: ten kings will arise; and another will arise after them, and he will be different from the previous ones and will subdue three kings. (Daniel 7:24b) Three nations that were initially compliant horns of the beast must now be forced to participate. This will reverse any decision of a nation to withdraw from a united Europe.